Today’s artist had a brilliant mind. He was known for 2 things, drawing detailed marker illustrations of Chicago from memory and writing simple but catchy songs about whatever popped into his mind. Many of his songs were about bands or people he met, but one of my favorites this song about himself. Wesley died from complications from Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia in 2003, but his 50+ albums keep his messages going. There is an excellent documentary out about Wesley’s life called “Wesley Willis Joyrides”, I recommend checking it out to fully understand the impact of this man’s life.

Wesley Willis “I’m Sorry That I Got Fat”

Wesley Willis "I'm Sorry That I Got Fat"

Like what you see feel free to email me at tad@creativesquall.com or check out the Creative Squall website to see how sketches grow up to be complete ideas. If you really like what you see, be sure to subscribe to get updates for the latest Song of the Day.

