Mates of State is probably one of my favorite bands of the last decade. They have continued to release solid albums, and their live shows are one of the best I’ve ever seen. We’ve seen them 2 or 3 times and never been disappointed. It’s amazing how a simple two piece band can fill a room with such energy. In honor of the husband/wife approach to writing songs, I’ve asked my wife to contribute a sketch to the project. We both developed concepts independently, and I brought the final sketch together with a loose photoshop collage. The notebook paper/pencil sketches represent her take on the song while the marker sketches represent my take. Though we both interpreted the song to have different meanings our two approaches worked together to provide an idea that captures the lyrics, feel of the band and more importantly the spirit of how Mates of State collaborates.

Mates of State “Goods (All In Your Head)”

Like what you see feel free to email me at tad@creativesquall.com and don’t forget to become a fan on Facebook. Check out the Creative Squall website to see how sketches grow up to be complete ideas.

