I remember describing Deerhoof to my wife as a blend of the best parts of Sonic Youth, Mice Parade and Cibo Matto. Knowing that she likes all of these bands a lot, I told her that she’d love Deerhoof. The CD is on the way, so we’ll see how she feels. They’ve been on my list of must buy albums for about 3 years now, so I felt it was time to make the commitment and actually own an album by Deerhoof. I love the fact that they are able to take loud and raw sounds and intermingle them with open spaces and somewhat airy vocals. “Siriustar” in particular sounds like it could fall apart at any moment, which is what makes it so endearing to listen to.

Deerhoof “Siriustar”

Like what you see feel free to email me at tad@creativesquall.com and don’t forget to become a fan on Facebook. Check out the Creative Squall website to see how sketches grow up to be complete ideas.

