Today’s entry makes the final sketch/song for this year long project. As I thought about how I’d like to end, I wanted to leave everyone with something not only incredibly personal, but something to make you think about everyone around you.

We all have people in our lives that have influenced us more than they could ever know, and unfortunately more often than not we forget to tell them how important they are before they’re gone. The song “Hear You Me” by Jimmy Eat World is a touching song full of regret for not thanking the people around us.

I broke all of my rules for this final sketch.
I used references.
I spent more than an hour sketching.
I didn’t include the name of the song.
And I even did 2 sketches instead of one.

The first sketch is of one of the greatest ladies I’ve ever had the opportunity to know, Pauline Dobbs, my grandmother on my dad’s side. (Though we called her Mema.) I don’t think I ever saw her without a smile on her face, and that’s because I think she truly lived life the way she wanted. Whether she was gardening, making her famous Peach Ice Cream (which has been lost with her passing), reading, or just doing what she did best, listening, she was truly the happiest person I know. I hope that as I get older, I’m able to experience just an inkling of the joy she seemed to surround herself with every day. I miss you Mema.

The second sketch is of a person, who I considered my best friend for the first 14 years of my life, Eugene Runnells, my grandfather on my mom’s side. (Though we called him Pop.) I used to spend a few weeks every summer staying with my mom’s parents in Mississippi, and I truly think that was the moment I looked forward to every year. Pop always had stuff planned, but more importantly he spent time with me and my cousins making us laugh. I still have the Mr. Yuck faces that he cut out of the newspaper and sent to me, because I was such a picky eater as a kid. My mom recently showed me a photo that Pop and Mema Runnells took with a message for me. “Archie & Edith, April 9, 1978 – Tad, my hair was too short, so I had to put my flower in my belly button.” He had the biggest heart out of anyone I’ve known, and I hope that one day I can give half as much to the world as he did. My biggest regret is that the last time I saw him that he took the blame for me accidentally throwing away my 5th retainer at McDonald’s. He told my parents that he had rushed me. I was ever able to thank him. Pop I’m sorry, and I miss you more than anyone knows.

So, please listen to the song, and more importantly tell the important people in your lives how much they mean to you.

Jimmy Eat World “Hear You Me”

Thanks to everyone who has supported this project over the last year. Stay tuned as I begin wrapping up the poster and shirt prints of the poll winners to find out how you can get one. Also, I’m going to be developing the sketch of the day project into a book tentatively titled “Synesthesia” with additional goodies, finished art and stories.

Like what you see feel free to email me at tad@creativesquall.com and don’t forget to become a fan on Facebook. Check out the Creative Squall website to see how sketches grow up to be complete ideas.

